Leaving This World Alone (Loneliness among the Elderly)

James A. Froude said, “We enter the world alone, we leave the world alone.” There is no feeling more horrible than the loneliness one feels in the unsettling quiet of an empty house. For many elderly, it seems that aging accompanies loneliness as children leave and spouses pass on. Though many children devote years of their lives to care for their elderly parents, others abandon them to solitude.

A French article translates to read, “Elderly people who are deprived of the warmth of human contact are at the risk of turning inward. For the very old, an atmosphere such as this can become psychologically catastrophic and lead to depressive syndromes such as extreme sadness, a desire to do nothing, sleep problems and even dementia.”

It is easier to care for our parents when their health is deteriorating, but what about those who retain their health well into their fifties or sixties? Just as a teenager becomes preoccupied with high school social life and can often forget about the family dinner or activity, adults can become preoccupied with their jobs and families of their own and neglect their elderly parents.

Even if your parent is healthy, they may not remain so when subject to consistent loneliness. Ask yourself: How many times have I given my mother a call this past month? How often have I visited my parents this past year? How long did I stay? Long enough to have a real conversation, enjoy a dinner, or take a walk through the park?

On her blog, Judith Gelber spoke of her experience with loneliness in old age, “Among the side-effects of aging are loneliness and isolation. Friends and family die or move away. Whatever support system existed before seems in tatters. Life becomes a hard pill to swallow.”

The problem of loneliness in aging does not always fall on the children; sometimes the elderly bring loneliness upon themselves. “They’ve spent their lives looking after others as well as themselves. While they appreciate help, they still want to feel they are capable of taking care of themselves and running their own lives.” (Judith Gelber) Neighbors and others seeking to reach out are sometimes turned away for this very reason. The elderly have just as much right to keep their pride as the younger population does. Sometimes, though, the elderly can be a bit more stubborn. They’ve seen more of life, they’ve been more weathered by pains and hardships, and now they’re facing their last years alone.

Judith Gelber said, “The best help for the elderly is in the doing rather than the asking.” It’s true that some of the elderly may isolate themselves, but it does not mean that inside they are not reaching out for comfort and companionship. As Gelber said, many times actions do speak louder than words. If you are a nearby neighbor to an elderly person you could mow their lawn, shovel their walk, or bring over a warm, home-cooked meal. As a child you can simply pick up the phone and give your mother or father a call.

After everything so many of the elderly have contributed to our nation, our communities, and our families, we should give them the courtesy of friendship. There is no cure for loneliness but companionship and love. No one should have to leave this world alone.

About National Care Planning Council

The National Care Planning Council and its affiliated members are dedicated to helping families recognize the need for long term care planning. We are committed to raising awareness and providing information on common eldercare issues. Integrity, honesty, and a genuine concern for the elderly and their families are at the heart of our services.

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Elderly Emotions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Thanks for every other excellent post. Where else may anybody get that type of
    info in such a perfect approach of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look
    for such information.

  2. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to “return
    the favor”.I’m trying to fihd things to enhance my website!I suppose its
    ok to use some of your ideas!!

  3. Thanks to my father who informed me regarding this web site, this webpage is in fact awesome.

  4. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new
    to everything. Do you have any points for novice blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  5. Just beneath, are quite a few completely not associated websites to ours, on the other hand, they are certainly really worth going over.

  6. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  7. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is simply great and i can assume you
    are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming
    post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  8. I have been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty
    worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot
    more useful than ever before.

  9. Wonderful, what a website it is! This webpage provides useful information to us, keep it up.

  10. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this
    information! Thanks!

  11. Admiring the hard work you put into your site and in depth information you provide.

    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    unwanted rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  12. Incredible story there. What occurred after? Good luck!

  13. Appreciation to my father who shared with me concerning this
    weblog, this website is in fact remarkable.

  14. I wanted to create you one little observation to thank you very much over again on your superb thoughts you’ve discussed on this page.
    This has been really wonderfully open-handed of you to offer without restraint
    all numerous people would have advertised for an electronic book to make
    some cash for their own end, specifically now that you could have tried it if you
    ever wanted. The ideas as well worked to become easy way to recognize that some people have
    the identical fervor the same as my own to grasp more
    in respect of this issue. I believe there are lots
    of more enjoyable times in the future for people who scan through your website.

  15. I definitely wanted to send a brief note in order to thank you for all of the nice points you are writing on this website.
    My extensive internet research has at the end of the day been rewarded with beneficial insight to go over with my contacts.
    I would express that many of us readers are rather lucky to exist in a notable site with very many perfect people with valuable
    ideas. I feel somewhat grateful to have come across your entire site and look forward to so many more
    thrilling minutes reading here. Thank you again for a lot of things.

  16. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    shine. Please let me know where you got your theme. Thanks a lot

  17. Gosh. This might be your most profound post to date. Appreciate it, it was comfortoring in some way.

  18. Living all alone at home in old age gives seniors a feeling of insecurity and loneliness. Moving to a Senior Living Community is a good option because mingling with likeminded people of their age group and engaging in group and social activities will keep them relaxed and happy. Keeping contact with their family is also essential.

  19. Good points here and I’m thinking they may be even more applicable to people beyond their 50′s and 60′s since many 50 and 60-something-year-olds are still very active–possibly lonely at night if they live alone and don’t drive. On the other hand, some of them may have old parents. Combatting our parents’ loneliness can be challenging, especially when living far away. You might also want to check out my 2 blogs on the subject, http://helpparentsagewell.com/2012/02/18/stimulation-and-connections-enhance-seniors-lives-6-suggestions/ and http://helpparentsagewell.com/2011/08/09/aging-parents-and-loneliness/

  20. This article was very insightful. I’d been meaning to call my mom for weeks but this article just gave me the little extra push I needed. Everyone longs for some good company – even our parents in their old age.

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,162 other followers

